Medical School is a Joke

Nita Atkins
2 min readFeb 28, 2021

So it’s my first year of med school. So far it feels like a freaking circus, and I'm the worst clown in this freak show. Maybe most of us feel this way? Or maybe it’s just me? I dunno. Well, most of us look lost most of the time, except for the few nerds who constantly seem to have questions to ask.

Sometimes I think if only we had competent lecturers who actually know how to make decent PowerPoint presentations, then maybe life would be more bearable. Like seriously. Even a 6-year-old can make better notes. I spend a good chunk of my time at med school trying to figure out what the freak is written on each slide. So instead of spending time learning and absorbing the information, I waste a lot of time collecting and organising it. Like why? What kind of torture is this? Isn’t the amount of material we have to cover enough torture?

Before getting into med school I thought it would be very much hands-on, but in reality, it’s just lectures and the occasional dissections (due to covid these have been very limited) and clinical skills sessions. In high school my motivation to study was so I can get into med school, now I work just to avoid having to take a re-sit in the summer. Another difference between high school and med school is my attitude after each exam. In high school, I leave the exam hall having only guessed the answer to one or two questions. But it’s the opposite in med school. The only thing I hope for after an exam is a pass. I’ve gotten used to pulling allnighters, going 24 hours without food, living on instant food, etc.

At the end of every exam, I ask myself is it really worth it? All of this. The mental and physical stress and exhaustion. Studying medicine as an international student during the pandemic hasn’t been the easiest. But you gotta do what you gotta do!

There are so many other things that I’d like to rant about, but I think that’s enough for today. Maybe next week I’ll have more stuff to complain about. Like the constantly changing timetable.

--

--